The Nigeria National Accreditation System (NiNAS) is Nigeria’s national accreditation body recognised internationally to accredit conformity assessment bodies (CABs) such as laboratories (testing, medical testing and calibration), inspection bodies and certification bodies, in accordance with the relevant ISO (International Organisation for Standardisation) series of standards and guides. NiNAS’ accreditation attests to the technical competence and impartiality of the CABs to provide conformity assessment services that are recognised internationally. Accreditation reduces the need for multiple inspection of goods and services supplied by accredited CABs.

NiNAS was established as a key component of the National Quality Infrastructure Project (NQIP) for Nigeria. NQIP is aimed at supporting the missing standards and quality control bodies, which Nigeria needs in order to improve the quality of goods and services exchanged in both the national and international markets. NQIP will ensure the safety, integrity and marketability of goods and services, and the removal of technical barriers to trade.

As a Nigerian entity, NiNAS provides cost effective accreditation services that are easily accessible by organisations operating both in Nigeria and in the West Africa region. Apart from accreditation, NiNAS also provides training in ISO standards.

NiNAS involvement in the activities of international groups like AFRAC, IHAF, ILAC and IAF provides for international recognition of conformity assessment services through the concept of Multi-Lateral Mutual Recognition Arrangements (Arrangements). As a Full Member of AFRAC and an Associate Member  of ILAC, NiNAS is working towards becoming a signatory to the different Arrangements of these organisations. This reduces the need for reassessment of goods and services supplied by organisations that have NiNAS accreditation and as a result helps in reducing barriers to trade.

NiNAS is a not-for-profit organisation registered in 2015 by the Corporate Affairs Commission under Part C (Incorporated Trustees) of the Companies and Allied Matters Act, 1990 (CAP C20, LFN 2004). In November, 2019 the organisation was re-incorporated as a Company limited by Guarantees with the following mandates:

  1. To act as the sole national accreditation body charged with accreditation of conformity assessment activities.
  2. To accredit, designate, promote, and support conformity assessment bodies in accordance with international standards.
  3. To formulate, enforce, regulate and review the criteria or requirements for the accreditation of conformity assessment bodies in line with national and international requirements.
  4. To open and maintain record of all accredited conformity assessment bodies.
  5. To publish all conformity assessment bodies that have been accredited online.
  6. To promote the use of accreditation marks and certificates issued to accredited conformity assessment bodies.
  7. To promote competence and equivalence of accredited bodies.
  8. To establish and nurture relations and co-operation with regional an international accreditation bodies, persons, associations and organizations that NINAS may consider desirable or appropriate, in furtherance of the objectives and purposes for which NINAS is established.
  9. To promote accreditation as a means of facilitating regional and international trade and enhancing economic performance and transformation.
  10. To participate in the formulation of regional and international guidelines and standards to facilitate the accreditation process.
  11. TO raise awareness on the importance and purpose of accreditation.
  12. To promote NINAS as the sole National Accreditation Body in the scope of accreditation.
  13. To produce and issue identification number and certificate to all accredited conformity assessment bodies.
  14. To do all such other things as may be considered incidental or conducive to the attainment of the above objects or any of them.

See Also

Benefits of Accreditation 

NiNAS Vision, Mission and Core Values

NiNAS Structure

NiNAS Strategic Plan

International Memberships

International Partnerships